Connect With Us


Board Leadership

TBI President Rita Shumsky

Rita Shumsky began her Jewish journey in Atlantic City, NJ at the Conservative Beth Kehillah known as Community Synagogue. Her grandfather, Benjamin Lieberman, was one of the original members.  She went to Sunday School and had her Bat Mitzvah and Confirmation at Community.   A graduate of Boston University, Rita has a BS in Nursing and received her MS in Nursing from Adelphi University.  She has enjoyed a wonderful and varied career including staff nurse, Clinical Nurse Specialist, and Administrator for Nursing.  In addition, she taught nursing at SUNY Farmingdale, SUNY Stony Brook and Adelphi University.  When Rita moved to Port Washington, she immediately joined TBI.  “I’ve been a member her for 30 years.  I originally joined because I found the Congregation as warm and welcoming as it still is!”  Temple Beth Israel is “the” Conservative Synagogue in Port Washington.  It is blessed with a growing and involved membership.

Rita has had several positions on the TBI Board of Trustees in the last five years including Co-Vice President for Fundraising and Executive Vice President.  As President she looks forward to working with the new and existing Board Members and the Congregation.  Rita has two daughters, Wendy Petty and Debra Fogel, and three grandsons, TJ, Jake and Michael Petty.






Giving to Temple Beth Israel

Giving to Temple Beth Israel

Giving tzedakah (making donations) to Temple Beth Israel enables our community to come together to pray, celebrate, socialize, and learn. In addition, your tzedakah to Temple Beth Israel provides teachers for our children’s Jewish education, supports adult programs, assists our holy work of Tikkun Olam (repairing the world), organizes members to visit the sick and comfort mourners, and much more.